Marin Poetry Center events are free and open to the public. Unless otherwise noted, events are held at the Falkirk Cultural Center at 1408 Mission Avenue in San Rafael. Occasionally, events are held in alternate locations, if so this appears in the event details.

Thursday, April 25, 2019: 7:30pm
Poet Laureate Celebration

 Join us in celebration of Marin County’s newest poet laureate, Terry Lucas! 

Terry Lucas is the author of two full-length poetry collections, Dharma Rain (Saint Julian Press, 2016), and In This Room (CW Books, 2016). His two prize-winning chapbooks are Altar Call (San Gabriel Valley Literary Festival, 2013), and If They Have Ears to Hear (Southeastern Missouri University Press, 2013), winner of the 2012 Copperdome Chapbook Award. His poems, essays, and reviews have appeared in numerous national journals, including Best New Poets 2012, Columbia Poetry Review, Crab Orchard Review, Great River Review, Green Mountains Review, MiPOesias, and most recently, Alaska Quarterly Review, Naugatuck River Review, and Open: Journal of Arts & Letters. His essay, “The Crack in Everything, Metaphor and Love in the Poetry of Alicia Ostriker,” was published this month on the companion website Everywoman Her Own Theology: On the Poetry of Alicia Suskin Ostriker (University of Michigan Press, 2018). Terry is a regular guest speaker, panelist, and reader for the Dominican University Low-Residency MFA Program, as well as a free-lance poetry coach.

Rebecca Foust, outgoing poet laureate of Marin County will host this event, welcoming the new poet laureate and honoring previous poets laureate. The evening will feature brief readings by all. 

Rebecca’s books include Paradise Drive (Press 53 Award), reviewed in the Times Literary Supplement and The San Francisco Chronicle, and the Georgia, Harvard, and Hudson Reviews. The Unexploded Ordnance Bin won the 2018 Swan Scythe chapbook prize and is forthcoming in 2019. Recognitions include the Cavafy and James Hearst Poetry Prizes, the Lascaux and American Literary Review Fiction Prizes, and fellowships from Hedgebrook, MacDowell, and Sewanee. Passionate about literature for everyone, not just the educated elite, and about using it to further social justice, Foust is happy to be able to promote these goals as Marin Poet Laureate and Poetry Editor for the online magazine, Women’s Voices for Change.

Thursday, May 16, 2019: 7:30pm
Sixteen Rivers Anthology Celebration

America, We Call Your Name: Poems of  Resistance and Resilience, was conceived in response to the 2016 presidential election, combines the voices of poets from across America—from red states and blue states, high schools and nursing homes, big cities and small towns—with the voices of poets from other countries and other times. From Virgil and Dante to Claudia Rankine and Mai Der Vang, from Milton to Merwin, from Po Chü-i to Robin Coste Lewis, these voices—now raucous, now muted, now lyric, now plain—join together here in dissent and in praise, in grief and alarm, in vision and hope. Local poets will read selections from this inspiring volume.

Tuesday, May 21, 2019: 7pm
Memorial Tribute to Linda Gregg

Falkirk Cultural Center

This tribute celebrates Linda Gregg’s life ad work, with poems and stories from poets and friends. Robert Hass, Brenda Hillman, Forrest Gander, Jane Hirshfield and other poets and friends will gather to read and speak about Linda. Refreshments will be served.

If you plan to attend and/or read, please RSVP to so we can plan appropriately.

Linda was raised in Marin County, went to Francis Drake high school and earned her BA and an MA from San Francisco State University. Her books include In the Middle Distance (2006); All of It Singing: New and Selected Poems (2008), a Los Angeles TimesFavorite Book of 2008 and winner of the Poetry Society of America’s William Carlos Williams Award; Things and Flesh (1999), finalist for the Kingsley Tufts Award for Poetry; Chosen by the Lion (1995); Sacraments of Desire (1992); Alma (1985); and Too Bright to See (1981).

Tuesday, June 4, 2019: 7pm
Ilya Kaminsky and Heather Altfeld

Kurland Lounge, Osher Marin Jewish Community Center
200 N San Pedro Rd, San Rafael

This special event is cosponsored by the Marin JCC. Admission is free, but RSVP is required. To register for a seat, click HERE.

Ilya Kaminsky, a Russian Jewwas born in Odessa (in the former Soviet Union) in 1977 and arrived to the United States in 1993, when his family was granted asylum by the American government. He has been awarded both a Guggenheim Fellowship, and Lannan Foundation’s Literary Fellowship.

His last book, Dancing In Odessa (Tupelo Press), which won the Whiting Writer’s Award, the American Academy of Arts and Letters’ Metcalf Award, the Dorset Prize, and the Ruth Lilly Fellowship given annually by Poetry magazine.

Poems from his new manuscript, Deaf Republic, were awarded Poetry magazine’s Levinson Prize and the Pushcart Prize. (Kaminsky lost his hearing at an early age.) Recently, he was on the short-list for Neustadt International Literature Prize. His poems have been translated into numerous languages and his books have been published in many countries including Turkey, Holland, Russia, France, Mexico, Macedonia, Romania, Spain and China, where his poetry was awarded the Yinchuan International Poetry Prize.

Heather Altfeld is a poet and essayist. Her first book of poetryThe Disappearing Theatre, won the Poets at Work Prize, selected by Stephen Dunn. Her poems and essays appear in Conjunctions, Narrative Magazine, Pleiades, Poetry Northwest, The Los Angeles Review, and other literary journals. She currently teaches in the Honors Program and for the Comparative Religion and Humanities Department at California State University, Chico.


The Marin Poetry Center Traveling Show

For details, please visit the Traveling Show page.